--- title: "General session preferences" slug: "session-preferences" updated: 2026-10-12T11:36:43Z published: 2026-10-12T11:36:43Z canonical: "knowledge.lightico.com/session-preferences" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://knowledge.lightico.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # General session preferences This article explains system settings for general preferences that affect how a session functions. You can configure these settings from the Admin Center on the **System** settings page, under **Session > Preferences** and **Session > Tools** sections. ## Customer access duration Set a duration after which the customer's access token expires. If the customer is not active in the session, they will no longer be able to use the same link to access the session. Clicking the link will display a message that the session has expired and they can request a new link. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/473bb8c5-ff1b-4930-8109-2321ac6ab967/Images/Documentation/image(391).png) ## Customer reengagement Select one of the following to define what happens when an agent starts a session with a customer email or phone number used in a previous session: - **Continue previous conversation** - The existing session opens with all the previous interactions. - **Start new conversation** - A clean session opens for this email / phone number. > [!NOTE] > Note > > For the session re-engage feature, see [Change customer details.](/v1/docs/start-a-session#change-customer-details-reengage) ## Single active session Activate this setting to prevent agents from opening more than one session at a time. ## Inactive agent message **To show a message to customers as they enter the session for when the agent is inactive:** 1. Turn the toggle on. 2. Enter the message in the field and click **Done**. ## Cookie disclaimer Activate this settings to display a disclaimer about cookies the first time customers enter a session. ## Auto open assets and Workflows This feature creates a more focused and streamlined session experience, especially when there's only one interaction in the collaboration session. Typically, a customer enters the collaboration UI (User Interface) and needs to click **Start** to enter open an interaction. With the auto open feature enabled, upon clicking the session link, customers bypass the collaboration UI and enter directly into the first interaction. If there is more than one interaction in the session, only after completing all interactions is the customer taken to the collaboration UI. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/473bb8c5-ff1b-4930-8109-2321ac6ab967/Images/Documentation/Auto open jump.png) > **Note:** > > This feature supports eSigns, Document Requests, and Workflows. Stand-alone payments are not supported. **To auto open assets and Workflows:** In **System settings > Session > Preferences > Auto open assets and Workflows**, turn on the toggle. All session will now open automatically. > [!NOTE] > Note > > These settings can also be configured according to team. Team settings override System settings. For more information, see [Define unique team settings](https://knowledge.lightico.com/docs/use-session-settings-from-a-different-team). ## Engagement channels Engagement channels, or how invitations and notifications are sent to session participants is an essential part of completing customer journeys. By default, the agent selects the engagement channel by clicking the engagement channel toggle in the **New Session** dialog box and entering either the customer’s email or phone number. An invitation is automatically sent via the selected channel. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/473bb8c5-ff1b-4930-8109-2321ac6ab967/Images/Documentation/2024-07-01_16-48-36(1).PNG) New Session dialog - engagement channel toggle In addition to the invitation to join the session, the selected engagement channel (email or text message) is also used throughout the session for other communication such as: - Reminders about unfinished business in the session - Notifications about updates to the session ![](https://cdn.document360.io/473bb8c5-ff1b-4930-8109-2321ac6ab967/Images/Documentation/Auto open - update email.png) ### Engagement channel system settings There are settings that help you customize the way you engage with your customers. You’ll find these settings in system and team settings under **Session > Preferences > Engagement channels**. See below for explanations of the settings. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/473bb8c5-ff1b-4930-8109-2321ac6ab967/Images/Documentation/2024-12-02_17-50-08.png) ### Use embedded sessions If you send session invitations from a third-party provider, you can activate the following settings to prevent a duplicate invitation from being sent: - **Use embedded session** - Lightico will NOT send an invitation to the customer when the agent starts a session - **Copy session URL** - Agent can copy a URL for the customer UI and share it with the customer - **Mandatory contact details** - Require agents to enter either a phone number or email when starting the session For an illustration of the agent console when embedded sessions is activated, see [Manage sessions](/v1/docs/invite-the-customer#when-an-external-service-sends-the-session-invitation). ### Text messages If you need to avoid sending text messages because of regulations or some other reason, click the **SMS** toggle to disable all text messages from being sent to your customer. When text messages are disabled, all options to send invitations and other communications by text are removed from the agent and customer UI. This includes typical and pre-planned sessions, [re-engage](/v1/docs/start-a-session#change-customer-details-reengage), inviting additional participants, assigning, and reassigning. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/473bb8c5-ff1b-4930-8109-2321ac6ab967/Images/Documentation/image(66).png) New Session dialog with no text message option ### Default delivery channel for customer invite When an agent starts a session, the invitation toggle is preselected to either SMS or email. Use this setting to choose which channel is preselected for your organization. Agents can still switch the channel for any individual session. > [!NOTE] > Notes > > - The setting applies to both Collaboration Room and Case Manager sessions. > - When [SMS invitations are disabled](/v1/docs/session-preferences#text-messages), this setting is also disabled. --- ## Enable or disable Resend Invite Agents can resend a session invitation to a customer who has lost it, in both Collaboration Room and Case Manager. This option is on by default. If you'd rather not rely on every agent to use it well, you can turn it off so agents can't send invitations that aren't needed. **To enable or disable Resend Invite:** In system settings (or team settings), under **Session > Tools**, turn the **Resend session invites** toggle on or off. > [!NOTE] > **Note** > > Turning this setting off removes only Resend invite. Agents can still use Re-engage. Area of the Lightico platform where you will find all settings, user management, and asset configuration pages. Access to this area is defined by a user's role and permissions. A user that communicates with end-customers to complete tasks in a Collaboration Room session or a Case Manager case. Each user is associated with a team. A team defines unique settings that affect how a Collaboration Room session functions and what cases are available in Case Manager. A module within the Lightico Platform that enables you to complete all parts of a customer journey from a single, chat-style interface. You can obtain signatures, verify ID, collect supporting documentation, collect payments and more. A module in the Lightico platform that enables you to collect and manage customer information in a standardized, organized, and efficient way.